Australasian Science: Australia's authority on science since 1938

Epilepsy, Epigenes and Molecular Filters Earn PM’s Prizes

The full text of this article can be purchased from Informit.

Prof Sam Berkovic and Prof Ingrid Scheffer of The University of Melbourne have been awarded the 2014 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science for research that identified the first epilepsy gene and more than half of the genes currently known. The pair discovered that a particularly severe form of epilepsy was caused by a gene mutation rather than vaccination, thus dispelling significant concerns about immunisation.

Their work has opened the way to better targeted research, diagnosis, management and treatment for many forms of epilepsy, showing that genes can lead to seizures in different ways in different forms of epilepsy. An important cause, for instance, is interference with the movement of nutrients across nerve cell membranes. In one of these cases, treatment using a diet that avoids glucose is effective.

Prof Ryan Lister of The University of Western Australia was awarded the Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year for creating ways to map millions of molecular markers that reveal where genes have been switched on or off. He has mapped these markers in plants and humans, and revealed key differences in cells with different fates. These “epigenome” maps could enable plant breeders to modify crops to increase yields without changing their underlying DNA.

Lister has also shown that when human skins cells are stimulated to become stem cells,...

The full text of this article can be purchased from Informit.